The cycle track network
connecting East to West
in the New Territories

Tuen Mun Yuen Long Sheung Shui University Station Ma On Shan Tsuen Wan

The cycle track network connecting East to West in the New Territories

Tuen Mun to Ma On Shan (Full Track)

The Government strives to implement the cycle track network project in the New Territories (NT), with an aim of connecting the scattered cycle tracks in the NT East and West to provide more choices for public enjoyment. The Tuen Mun to Ma On Shan backbone section of the NT Cycle Track Network is fully open in 2020.

This 60-kilometre long cycle track section is characterised by distinctive features, with special emphasis on safety and landscaping design, as well as provision of supporting facilities such as cycling entry/exit hubs and resting stations. Now, let’s take a look at what makes this cycle track so attractive!

Tsuen Wan to Tuen Mun (Tsuen Wan Waterfront Section)

The works of the 2.3 km-long cycle track that runs along the Tsuen Wan waterfront connecting Tsing Tsuen Bridge and Bayview Garden are now substantially complete. The section between Bayview Garden and MTR Tsuen Wan West Station was opened to the public in April 2021. The remaining part is targeted to be opened in mid-2021. For more details of the cycle track between Tsuen Wan and Tuen Mun, please click here.

This video provides
in Cantonese only

Safe Cycling Tips

Tuen Mun to Ma On Shan 60km Cycle Track

The cycle track network connecting East to West in the New Territories

The 11 km-long cycle track connecting Yuen Long to Sheung Shui was opened to the public in September 2020, marking the completion of the entire backbone of the 60 km-long cycle track between Tuen Mun and Ma On Shan. Starting from Tuen Mun in the west, the cycle track reaches as far as Ma On Shan in the east, passing through Yuen Long, Sheung Shui, Fanling, Tai Po and Sha Tin. With a normal cycling speed, it takes more than 6 hours to complete the entire route.

Beautiful scenery and cultural attractions along the cycle track

With scenic spots along the cycle track, cyclists may appreciate the natural ecological beauty and visit cultural attractions. As such, cycling along the cycle track network is very suitable for families, friends and cycling fans.

Tuen Mun to
Yuen Long Section

The ecology, scenic beauty and local delicacies in Tuen Mun, Yuen Long and Tin Shui Wai are surprisingly wonderful. Lau Fau Shan, renowned for its seafood offer, attracts a large number of visitors during holidays who enjoy delicious seafood, buy souvenirs and appreciate the sunset.

Since the end of Yuen Dynasty, Yuen Long has been the settlement for many clan families. There are, therefore, so many historical heritage and nostalgic cultural traditions in the area, reflecting the local clan cultures. For those who want to learn about the history of indigenous villagers and family clans in Hong Kong, it is advisable to visit the Ping Shan Heritage Trail for a tour of ancestral halls, temples, courtyards and ancient pagodas; or to visit Ching Chung Koon, Miu Fat Buddhist Monastery and other historical heritage to enjoy the state of tranquillity and cleanse your mind.

To allow your children to get close to nature, learn about ecology and watch birds, you may visit the Hong Kong Wetland Park to enhance their understanding of the diversity and importance of wetland ecosystems. Alternatively, you may take them to Ping Shan Tin Shui Wai Public Library, the first public library with an outdoor courtyard for reading, to enjoy reading books together with them!

Yuen Long to
Sheung Shui Section

Found along the section from Yuen Long to Sheung Shui are the scenic spots with rich natural and cultural ambience, as well as deep historical roots. There are not only beautiful natural landscapes and wildlife animals, but also many historical and cultural monuments. Nam Sang Wai, the most well-known natural attraction in Yuen Long, has been so popular for years for its romantic and pleasant scenery, attracting scores of visitors to “check-in” on social media platforms! In addition, the Mai Po Nature Reserve, also known as the "Bird’s Paradise“, provides shelters for wildlife animals, while serving as an important en-route stop for migrating water birds.

Tai Fu Tai Mansion, the residence of the descendants of Man Tin Cheung, the loyal minister of Song Dynasty who wrote the poem “The Song of the Righteous Spirit”, is also located in the area. Found nearby is Man Tin Cheung Park, allowing visitors to commemorate Man’s impressive loyalty and righteousness - “Everyone must die. Let me but leave a loyal heart shining in the pages of history”.

Sheung Shui to
University Station Section

The section of the cycle track covering Sheung Shui, Tai Po and University Station is full of historical, cultural and natural elements. One of the oldest markets in Hong Kong, Luen Wo Hui Market, is located here. The Lung Yeuk Tau Heritage Trail and Tai Po Man Mo Temple, alongside other historical and cultural monuments, serve as testimony to the history and living styles of the early settlers in the New Territories.

There are also many tourist attractions suitable for family outings, such as the Hong Kong Railway Museum, formerly known as Tai Po Market Railway Station of the Kowloon-Canton Railway, where one can learn the history and development of Hong Kong’s railway system and children will find it highly enjoyable to hang around.

Like Tai Mei Tuk, the Hong Kong Science Park, adjacent to the Pak Shek Kok seaside promenade, is well known for its scenic environment and paradise-like recreational area. In addition, one may visit the fishing village at Sam Mun Tsai to experience the atmosphere of an old fishing village. The magnificent rocky landscapes at Ma Shi Chau, alongside the Tai Po Fung Yuen Butterfly Conservation Area with around 180 butterfly species, are the mesmerising wonders of the nature. Enjoy yourself!

University Station to
Ma On Shan Section

University Station, Sha Tin and Ma On Shan are all famous for their natural scenery, cultural elements and long cycling trails. One can start off near Shing Mun River, ride along the eastern bank of Tolo Harbour to reach Ma On Shan, and enjoy the scenery along the route. If time allows, one can visit the Wu Kai Sha Pebble Beach, a popular location for watching sunsets. At sundown time, many residents and visitors are drawn to this beach for a stroll along the shore in its relaxing atmosphere. Apart from cycling, one can also visit other scenic spots and historical sites in the district, which provide an unexpected rich experience. Exhibitions at the Hong Kong Heritage Museum take visitors on a journey through history and ancient art. Che Kung Temple is a popular attraction drawing both locals and overseas visitors all year round. Tsang Tai Uk, one of the best-preserved Hakka walled villages in Hong Kong, is not to be missed. With granite, green bricks and ancient wood used over a hundred years ago still preserved in its buildings, this village stands as a silent witness to the passage of time.

Tsuen Wan Waterfront Section

Located in the western New Territories along the coast, Tsuen Wan is endowed with a beautiful promenade. This area is also a witness of the golden period of the local textile manufacturing industry, and has a rich local history and heritage. Art and culture enthusiasts flock to this area in the holidays.

The scenic views of Tsuen Wan are enjoyed by many. Taking a stroll from Tsuen Wan Riviera Park to Tsuen Wan Park, one can enjoy a panoramic view of Tsing Yi, Rambler Channel and Ting Kau Bridge from afar at the Tsuen Wan West waterfront promenade. In the early evening when the city is basking in the last glow of the setting sun, people stop in their tracks, savouring the splendour of the enchanting scenary. Tsuen Wan Sports Centre, adjacent to Tsuen Wan Park, provides diversified recreational and sports facilities that allow everyone in the family to enjoy the fun of exercising.


Stay tuned for
CT60 Challenge

CT60 Challenge

貫通新界東西的單車徑網絡

屯門 元朗 上水 大學站 馬鞍山 荃灣
此影片只提供
廣東話配音和繁體字幕

新界單車徑網絡

「新界單車徑網絡」

政府致力分階段推展「新界單車徑網絡」,目標是要把不連貫的新界東西單車徑連接起來,希望為市民提供更多消閒選擇。

屯門至馬鞍山主幹線

屯門至馬鞍山主幹線全長約60公里,並已於2020年全線開通。此段單車徑走線頗具特色,設計上特別着重安全及環境美化,並沿途設有單車匯合中心及休息處等輔助設施。

荃灣海濱段

荃灣海濱段單車徑及單車匯合中心已於2021年7月全面開放!此段由荃灣海濱公園至灣景花園的單車徑長約2.3公里,沿海濱而建,可欣賞藍巴勒海峽和青衣島的優美風景。此段單車徑屬荃灣至屯門主幹線的一部分,如想了解更多有關荃灣至屯門單車徑的詳情,請按此瀏覽。

此影片只提供
廣東話配音和繁體字幕

騎單車安全提示

屯門至馬鞍山60公里路段

貫通新界東西的單車徑網絡

全長11公里連接元朗至上水的單車徑已於2020年9月開放予公眾使用,標誌整段60公里長由屯門至馬鞍山的新界單車徑主幹線落成。該單車徑網絡西起屯門,途經元朗、上水、粉嶺、大埔和沙田,東達馬鞍山。按一般人踏單車的速度計算,要完成整條路線,需時多於6小時。

沿途風景優美且途經文化景點

單車徑會途經風景優美的景點;市民沿途可欣賞自然生態,並參觀文化景點。因此,該單車徑十分適合一家大小、三五知己或一眾單車「發燒友」使用。

屯門 – 元朗段

屯門、元朗及天水圍的生態、景致和美食帶來無限驚喜。流浮山是馳名中外的海鮮勝地,每逢假日吸引了大量市民到訪,品嘗海鮮、購買手信及觀賞日落。

至於元朗,自元朝末年起,已有人聚居,因此區內有不少有關當地宗族文化的歷史古蹟及懷舊文化。如想瞭解香港的原住民歷史和宗族文化,不妨踏上屏山文物徑,走訪當地祠堂、廟宇、庭院和古塔;亦可參觀青松觀和妙法寺等名勝古蹟,享受清幽寧靜的環境,以收洗滌心靈之效。

如果想讓小朋友親近大自然、認識生態和觀鳥,可到訪香港濕地公園,以瞭解濕地生態系統的多樣性及重要性;亦可參觀全港首個設有室外閱讀空間的屏山天水圍公共圖書館,享受親子閱讀之樂。

元朗 – 上水段

元朗至上水段的景點洋溢自然與人文氣息,處處流露出悠久歷史和歲月痕跡;既有美麗的自然景觀和野生動物,亦有多項歷史文化古蹟。元朗最為人熟悉的自然景點,當數南生圍;該處風景秀美,環境怡人,多年來都是深入民心的「打卡」勝地。此外,米埔自然保護區有「雀鳥天堂」的美譽,為野生動物提供了棲身之所,亦是水鳥遷徙的重要中途站。相信大家讀過宋代忠臣文天祥的《正氣歌》,原來其後人居所—大夫第正是坐落此區,附近更設有文天祥紀念公園,供遊人懷緬文天祥「人生自古誰無死,留取丹心照汗青」的忠義情操。

上水 – 大學站段

上水、大埔和大學站路段,具有歷史、文化和自然元素。區內有本港歷史最悠久的墟市之一—聯和墟聯和市場,亦有龍躍頭文物徑和文武二帝廟等古蹟文物,見證新界早期居民的歷史和生活。

區內亦有許多老幼咸宜的景點,例如前身為九廣鐵路大埔墟火車站的香港鐵路博物館,當中記載了香港鐵路發展的歷史,同時亦是小朋友放電的好去處。

香港科學園毗鄰白石角海濱長廊,環境優美,跟大美督同屬休閒勝地。區內亦有三門仔漁村,可體驗老漁村風情,而馬屎洲的岩石奇景和共有近180個蝴蝶品種的大埔鳳園蝴蝶保育區,更是令人贊嘆的大自然奇跡,讓人留連忘返。

大學站 – 馬鞍山段

大學站、沙田和馬鞍山均以自然風光、文化氣息和悠長的單車徑而著稱。從城門河畔出發,沿吐露港東岸前往馬鞍山,可欣賞沿途美景。如時間合適,更可前往欣賞日落的熱門地點-烏溪沙石灘;夕陽西下時,每每吸引許多居民和遊人信步海濱,細味生活。區內名勝古蹟景點亦有種種意想不到的豐富體驗,等待遊人探索。香港文化博物館設有各式展覽,參觀者可穿梭歷史長河、品味古代藝術。香火鼎盛的車公廟則是廣受市民以至訪港旅客歡迎的熱門景點。此外,區內的曾大屋是全港保存最為完好的客家圍村之一,村內仍有當年使用的花崗岩、青磚和木材留存至今,默默見證時光流逝。

荃灣海濱段

荃灣位於新界西面沿岸,海濱景色優美。該區又曾見證本港紡織業的輝煌時期,文化歷史豐富,每逢假日都吸引許多熱愛文化藝術的朋友到來。

荃灣的美景為人津津樂道。沿着荃灣海濱公園及荃灣公園漫步,可從荃灣西海濱遠眺,將青衣、藍巴勒海峽及汀九橋的景色盡收眼底。黃昏時分,落日餘暉映照着城市的醉人景致,總會吸引不少市民駐足欣賞。至於在荃灣公園附近的荃灣體育館,則提供多元化的康體設施,適合一家大細享受運動的樂趣。


密切留意
CT60大挑戰

新界60公里單車徑大挑戰